Friday 24th April 2015

Wow been a while since we posted here been busy with OLD Fart on his pages…Have we been anywhere Yes Littlehampton.

Russia’s Space Agency Has Ambitious Plans to Find Aliens

ALf says they are looking in the wrong parts of space.

If there’s life on other planets, Russia’s space agency Roscosmos is determined to find out.

The federal space program for the next 10 years includes the launches of several devices designed to search for alien life, state news agency RIA Novosti reported Thursday.

From this year until 2025, Roscosmos plans to launch about a dozen research devices, some of which will study dark matter, global climate change and heavenly bodies that could impact Earth, the report said.

The first launch, of Russia’s Lomonosov research satellite, is scheduled to take place this year, the report said, citing a draft of the new federal space program.

Next year Russia will reportedly help launch the ExoMars-1 interplanetary space station, part of a collaborative project with the European Space Agency, to search for life on the Red Planet.

Earlier this month the chief scientist at the U.S. space agency NASA, Ellen Stofan, said she was confident that scientists will uncover definitive evidence of alien life in the next 10 to 20 years.

The Sky At Night

Whenever I look to the stars
I feel I know how far away they are
I know that they are beyond everything I understand
I love to look up and see them
I know I am mortal but when I see them
I understand that that does not matter
It really does not matter
As long as I am not in pain I can marvel at them
On a cold clear night the wow factor is always there
It astonishes me that I can remember I have looked at them
From many different locations and always feel the same
Then sometimes there is a bonus
A shooting star or maybe two or three
I stand still and stare its freezing but I don’t care
For those few minutes I am alone with all of it
I think on the sizes the distances and the centuries past
Whenever I see the stars my worries become as nothing
But I am not stupid and I am only human and luckily
I have a roof over my head and a warm bed to go to
The stars are outside the window but for the next few days
I will revert to type until I look up again at the night sky

John Bishop 15/04/2015

Leave a comment